Jackcon caps

Cool cases? Different resistors? More airflow? Show us...
Post Reply
purrkur
Linux Guru
Posts: 687
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 5:57 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Jackcon caps

Post by purrkur » Fri Jan 06, 2006 4:57 pm

After my latest BP6 started acting unstable (even though the caps look clean and healthy) I contacted Jackcon for replacement caps which they sent my way.

This was some time ago. I haven't had any time to fix my BP6 which has been collecting dust until now. Anyhow, I have started removing the 1000microF@10V jobs. I haven't started removing the 1500microF@6.3 volt jobs. Anyway, now that I have the first batch out I took a closer look at what Jackcon sent me.

They have sent me 13 pcs 1500microF@6.3V and 13 pcs 2200microF@6.3volt.

I guess they figured upping the capacitance from 1000 to 1500 and 1500 to 2200 which is OK but my problem is that the 1500's are 6.3 volts and not 10 volts like the originals.

question is: Has anybody replaced the 1000microF@10V with other caps rated at 6.3V?
2x533MHz@544MHz, 2.0V
640MB PC100 memory
Realtek RTL-8139 NIC
Maxtor 6Y080L0 80GB hdd
Debian Linux stable with 2.4.8 kernel

KliK
Posts: 350
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 3:56 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Contact:

Post by KliK » Sat Jan 07, 2006 7:17 am

No, 'cause my caps are 1500microF@16V...

And in my opinion you better use higher voltage caps than lower! :D
After all, it would be a waste to frie that board, if they start to leak...and thet might happen!

purrkur
Linux Guru
Posts: 687
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 5:57 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by purrkur » Sat Jan 07, 2006 7:58 am

KliK wrote:No, 'cause my caps are 1500microF@16V...

And in my opinion you better use higher voltage caps than lower! :D
After all, it would be a waste to frie that board, if they start to leak...and thet might happen!
I think you are missing the point.

If the voltage these caps are "sitting on" is 5V then it won't matter one bit if the caps are speced out at 6.3, 10 or 16 volts. However, if the voltage is 8V and you are using 6.3V caps then they will be working above spec which will eventually kill them.

So I should reprase my question: Does anybody know what voltage these caps are working under?
2x533MHz@544MHz, 2.0V
640MB PC100 memory
Realtek RTL-8139 NIC
Maxtor 6Y080L0 80GB hdd
Debian Linux stable with 2.4.8 kernel

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Fri Jan 13, 2006 10:28 pm

My guess is they in-advertantly sent the wrong caps. I got exactly what was already on the board with one spare each from Jackson.
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

purrkur
Linux Guru
Posts: 687
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 5:57 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by purrkur » Sat Jan 14, 2006 3:44 am

I think Tim got the same ones I got. It may explain why his board started acting up again (he switched the 10V ones for the 6.3V ones).

I decided to go buy new 10V ones instead. I know now that they are not needed everywhere but for the CPU voltage regulator I would say that it would be dumb to take that chance.
2x533MHz@544MHz, 2.0V
640MB PC100 memory
Realtek RTL-8139 NIC
Maxtor 6Y080L0 80GB hdd
Debian Linux stable with 2.4.8 kernel

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests