dual PSU mod...

Cool cases? Different resistors? More airflow? Show us...
Post Reply
KliK
Posts: 350
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 3:56 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Contact:

dual PSU mod...

Post by KliK » Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:59 am

just did it, and now there are no blue screens...no halts in the system...no crashes...no frozing...

works great!!

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2478
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:13 pm

People underestimate how crucial a good power supply is to their system.

Have any pictures of your setup?
-Derek

KliK
Posts: 350
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 3:56 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Contact:

Post by KliK » Wed Nov 08, 2006 5:38 am

i'll try to do the pics...just be patient for a little while!! :D

Dave Rave
G'Day Mate!
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 4:28 am
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Post by Dave Rave » Wed Nov 08, 2006 6:55 am

I'm waiting on a cpl of these

a. i want to know what my total power draw out of my wall socket is
b. this would be nice to see how the PSU copes with being turned on

you could see how two hdds affects power draw
full Boinc noise versus idle
etc

KliK
Posts: 350
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 3:56 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Contact:

Post by KliK » Wed Nov 08, 2006 8:23 am

here is a nice link: http://www.extreme.outervision.com/index.jsp

also, a nice tweek is to HDD allways be TURNed ON...'cause when they start, the el. motor consumes a lot of power & some PSU crashed happend just then!!

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Mon Nov 27, 2006 12:10 am

Klik,
Did I miss something? I pulled up the link and tried the calculator but couldn't find any CPUs for socket 370.
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

KliK
Posts: 350
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 3:56 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Contact:

Post by KliK » Mon Nov 27, 2006 5:12 am

davd_bob wrote:Klik,
Did I miss something? I pulled up the link and tried the calculator but couldn't find any CPUs for socket 370.
well the 533 usually use 20W, as it is said on Intel web page...so use the P3 eqvivalent!!

davd_bob
Confused
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:30 am
Location: Houston, TX

Post by davd_bob » Sat Dec 02, 2006 3:43 pm

KliK wrote:
davd_bob wrote:Klik,
Did I miss something? I pulled up the link and tried the calculator but couldn't find any CPUs for socket 370.
well the 533 usually use 20W, as it is said on Intel web page...so use the P3 eqvivalent!!
Hmph,
ANYONE could look it up at Intel, but that takes away from the whole calculator thing. :(

I agree about using the P3 equivalant too. I also think that the power consumption is on the speed the cpus are running, not the speed they are rated at. My dual 366s@550 pull more then they do a 366.

Ahhhhhh, Thanks for the link anyway. 8) Its a good tool for what it was created for, and it also helps n00bs get a better picture on their whole system.
Later,
There are *almost* no bad BP6s. There are mostly bad caps.

No BP6s remaining
Athlon 2800
Sempron 2000
ViaCPU laptop with Vista.(Works great after bumping ram to 2Gig)
P-III 850@100

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest