Bios Beeps on boot up

OS / Drivers / BIOS
Post Reply
GerryD
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 7:35 am
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Bios Beeps on boot up

Post by GerryD » Sat Dec 13, 2003 7:24 pm

Hi
When my pc boots up prior to loading windows, the bios gives two beeps
(dee deet) which it repeats periodically. On the blue HPT screen which should show my two hard drives, only my C drive is shown. Is there anything I can do to resolve this?

Grateful for any help or advice

thanks

gerryd

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2479
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Sun Dec 14, 2003 12:00 am

Hi GerryD,

Take a look at this thread:

http://www.bp6.com/board/viewtopic.php?t=1782

Hopefully it will have your problem listed.
-Derek

kuun
Post-O-Matic
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2002 5:26 pm
Location: Tennessee
Contact:

Post by kuun » Wed Dec 17, 2003 12:14 am

erm derek.... that link takes you directly back to this thread....
!!! WARNING !!!
The following forums: www.bp6.com
are infected with the following VIRUS(s): Kuun.infected.all.posts.Win2K.user

The following IRC servers has been exploited: irc.bp6.com
with the Following Exploit: Kuun.lurks.using.mIRC.v5.82.exploit

24seven
IRC Lurker
Posts: 494
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 5:23 pm
Location: Derbyshire UK
Contact:

Post by 24seven » Wed Dec 17, 2003 4:43 am

I think Derek meant to link to the following thread:
http://www.bp6.com/board/viewtopic.php?t=1138
:wink:

GerryD
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 7:35 am
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post by GerryD » Thu Dec 18, 2003 5:10 pm

Thanks for the input and help

Looks like its memory related - After powering down I removed each stick of ram and then re-inserted only one and re booted. Then repeated this.
This seemed to sort the problem - I just need to find out if its the ram or the DIMM socket thats at fault.

Anyway, I up and running which is the main thing.

Happy Hogmaney as we say here in the west of Scotland

Gerry:D

InactiveX
BeOS Forever
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 8:25 am
Location: UK

Post by InactiveX » Fri Dec 19, 2003 9:22 pm

Sometimes the RAM works itself slightly loose, and reseating the stick is all that is required.

Have a wee dram on me! :D

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests