bp6 wont detect my harddrives anymore

OS / Drivers / BIOS
Post Reply
jfdflo
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 12:10 pm

bp6 wont detect my harddrives anymore

Post by jfdflo » Sat Jan 17, 2004 6:25 pm

Hi,

after changing my bios to the new BP6 RU With RAID HPT368
it doesnt detect any of the drives. i have disabled the ide controller in the bios but it doesnt help. At bootup it shows the iwill raid screen but there is now drive shown and i cant get in setup with ctrl-h. Anyone has an idea why?

thanxs for help
flo

Derek
Site Admin
Posts: 2479
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 3:55 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Derek » Sun Jan 18, 2004 11:53 am

Sometimes the RAID works and other times is doesn't. Since the BP6's onboard controller isn't meant for RAID you never know if the hacked BIOS will function correctly. I'm not too familiar with that BIOS so maybe someone else can help you out, but if all else fails I suggest you flash to the latest RV BIOS.
-Derek

hyperspace
Board Admin
Posts: 1394
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:39 am
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Contact:

Post by hyperspace » Tue May 11, 2004 10:16 pm

Didn't you have to modify the IDE cables for RAID? Maybe not.
Quantum WormHole

Image
lost in hypertime...

RRLedford
HPT IS EVIL!
Posts: 604
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 11:15 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Post by RRLedford » Wed May 12, 2004 12:36 am

Based on my other Dual P-III boards with Promise ATA100 RAID Lite onboard, here is the deal:

1) they do not support "JBOD" mode (just-a-bunch-of drives)
2) they require a matching pair of drives jumpered to "single/master"
3) only one drive per channel & regular cables
Note that a "drive select" cable & drives jumpered to "DS" will work too with the drive on the end of the cable.

The long delay while RAID BIOS searches for drives will then detect the pair.
Pressing CNTL-F or whatever hot key combo it takes, then gives you the RAID BIOS setup to configure the array scheme.

I run my (3) dual P-III systems all with RAID 0+2 striped (2)x80GB for a total of 480GB
I also have a Promise 4-channel SATA card with (4)x160GB drices in my Dell 600SC server. This makes my home LAN storage well over a terrabyte!
Zero point energy

Holodeck2
Modder Extraordinaire
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2003 12:57 am
Location: Purdue University
Contact:

Post by Holodeck2 » Wed May 12, 2004 1:56 am

what's this about hacking the BP6's built on 66 to RAID?
yea, back from the dead

If it ain't broken, mod it until it is

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest